FMC's 2023 - In Review



U.S. Association of Former Members of Congress& The Congressional Study Groups

A Word From FMC's CEO:

On behalf of the U.S. Association of Former Members of Congress (FMC), thank you so much for being part of our journey and a reason for our continued success. Founded in 1970, FMC was first envisioned as an alumni group for retired U.S. Representatives and Senators. While we continue to embrace our mandate as a very special and bipartisan membership organization, we have in the past 50+ years created impactful and unparalleled programs to deliver on our evolved mission: advocating for democracy at home and abroad, encouraging citizen participation, and strengthening Congress - all accomplished thanks to Republicans and Democrats working together.

In 2023, that mission was accomplished through over 120 programs – some as brief as a one-hour-long webinar on a possible government shutdown, and others as involved as a 10-day Former Member Delegation to Argentina. Over the past twelve months, we have brought Congress to Campus to over 50 universities, community colleges, and high schools, mostly in the United States, but also abroad in countries such as Germany, the United Kingdom, and Argentina. The vast majority of these visits were in-person events, but we embraced the lessons we learned during COVID and made virtual visits available to schools that otherwise could not have participated. Congress to Campus reached almost 5,000 students and was made possible by nearly 80 Former Members who donated their time and insight pro bono. We are also proud to say we have more than doubled the number of participating Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) and Hispanic Serving Institutions (HSIs) compared to last year.

In addition, our Congressional Study Groups on Europe, Germany, Japan, and Korea hosted over 40 meetings, panels, and trips in 2023. We organized several bipartisan Former Member Delegations (ExDELs), including two to South Korea. And we brought our membership's unique insight to bear via almost 20 issue-specific public panel discussions. We also continued to serve our alumni group purpose via over a dozen events bringing Former Members together, such as our June annual meeting – which was greatly enriched by a visiting group of Former Parliamentarians from Ireland. Most recently, we brought over four dozen political institutes from across the country together for a three-day conference in Washington, DC on election integrity in the United States.

First and foremost, we need to thank our sponsors and partners for another remarkably successful year! And it goes without saying that none of the above would have been accomplished without an outstanding team of twelve highly capable and highly productive professionals here at 1401 K Street. Our FMC staff has been guided and inspired throughout 2023 by an incredibly supportive board of directors, led so ably by FMC's Executive Committee: L.F. Payne (D-VA), Barbara Comstock (R-VA), Donna Edwards (D-MD), Dennis Ross (R-FL), and Charles Boustany (R-LA). I want to especially highlight and thank L.F. Payne for his sage leadership and unwavering commitment of time, energy and insight as FMC's President, all of which made our very active and successful 2023 possible.

I thank you again for your continued support of FMC and our mission, and I look forward to working with all of you in 2024.

Peter M. Weichlein, Esq. FMC CEO

A Look into the Past Year in Photos



Conference on Election Integrity



Statesmanship Awards



Congress to Campus to Hobart & William



Distinguished Service Award to the People of Ukraine



Memorial Service September



Statesmanship Awards - May



June



Chief of Staff Trip to Japan May



Study Tour to Argentina October



CSGJ Trip to Japan February



Congress to Campus to Bluefield and Indiana State



Congress to Campus to Naval Academy

ExDEL to South Korea - June

Past and Present FMC Staff at Statesmanship Awards May



District Director Germany Trip



Asian Leadership Conference May



Annual Meeting June



CSGJ Trip to Japan February

THANK YOU FOR A GREAT YEAR!

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The Hon. L.F. Payne (D-VA)

FMC President

The Hon. Barbara Comstock (R-VA)
President-Elect

The Hon. Donna Edwards (D-MD)

Vice President

The Hon. Dennis Ross (R-FL)
Vice President

The Hon. Charles Boustany (R-LA)

Immediate Past President

SUSTAINING MEMBERS

The Hon. Les AuCoin The Hon. Brian Baird The Hon. Joe Barton The Hon. Mike Bishop The Hon. Rick Boucher The Hon. Susan Brooks The Hon. Cheri Bustos The Hon. Dave Camp The Hon. Ben Chandler The Hon. Mike Conaway The Hon. Paul Cook The Hon. Ryan Costello The Hon. Rodney Davis The Hon. Peter DeFazio The Hon. Val Demings The Hon. Jeff Denham The Hon. Charlie Dent The Hon. Sean Duffy The Hon. Donna Edwards The Hon. Elizabeth Esty The Hon. Sam Farr

The Hon. John Faso The Hon. Bill Flores The Hon. Martin Frost The Hon. Tom Garrett The Hon. Bob Gibbs The Hon. Phil Gingrey The Hon. Dan Glickman The Hon. Bob Goodlatte The Hon, Bart Gordon The Hon. Tom Graves The Hon. Gene Green The Hon. John Hall The Hon. George Holding The Hon. Asa Hutchinson The Hon. Lynn Jenkins The Hon. Doug Jones The Hon. Kai Kahele The Hon. John Katko The Hon. Ron Kind The Hon. Adam Kinzinger The Hon. John Kline

The Hon. Scott Klug The Hon. Brenda Lawrence The Hon. Andy Levin The Hon, Alan Lowenthal The Hon. Elaine Luria The Hon. Jim Matheson The Hon. Ben McAdams The Hon. Jim McDermott The Hon. Mike McIntyre The Hon. Pat Meehan The Hon. Jeff Miller The Hon. Jim Moran The Hon. Stephanie Murphy The Hon. Randy Neugebauer The Hon. Erik Paulsen The Hon. Tim Petri The Hon. Ted Poe The Hon. Kathleen Rice The Hon. Tom Rice The Hon. Martha Roby The Hon. Peter Roskam

The Hon. Dennis Ross The Hon. Loretta Sanchez The Hon, Kurt Schrader The Hon, James Sensenbrenner The Hon. Donna Shalala The Hon. John Shimkus The Hon. Bill Shuster The Hon. Lamar Smith The Hon. Jackie Speier The Hon. Cliff Stearns The Hon. Steve Stivers The Hon. John Tanner The Hon. Mac Thornberry The Hon. Pat Tiberi The Hon. Dave Trott The Hon. Fred Upton The Hon. Greg Walden The Hon. Henry Waxman The Hon. Rob Woodall The Hon. John Yarmuth The Hon. Ted Yoho

ADVISORY BOARD

Brad Knox Aflac Majida Mourad Tellurian Inc. Nancy Ziuzin Schlegel Lockheed Martin Anna Schneider Volkswagen Mark Sobol Longwave Partners Jeff Werner Panasonic



1401 K Street NW, Suite 901, Washington DC 20005 www.usafmc.org | 202 222-0972

@ @usafmc in Former Members of Congress ? /usafmc