Thursday, 11 October 2018



FMC To Honor Sens. Klobuchar, Burr 
Senators will be honored for their work protecting American democracy



(Washington, D.C.) -- At a time in our nation’s history when the mission of FMC (the Association of Former Members of Congress), to improve Congress and to protect American democracy, is more important than ever, FMC announced today that it will honor two U.S. Senators who exemplify that mission. They will be honored at FMC’s annual Statesmanship Award Dinner.


The Statesmanship Award will be presented to U.S. Sen. Richard Burr of North Carolina and U.S. Sen. Amy Klobuchar of Minnesota, who are being recognized for their work in pursuit of the truth regarding international tampering with elections in the United States. Sen. Burr serves as chair of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, and Sen. Klobuchar is the lead Democratic Senator on the Senate Rules Committee and serves on the Judiciary Committee and Commerce, Science, and Transportation Committee.


“Each year, we are proud to support the men and women in Congress who focus on a bipartisan effort to improve our nation in some way,” said former U.S. Rep. Martin Frost, President of FMC. “Senators Klobuchar and Burr have set politics aside to focus on the important investigation we need into attacks on the very fabric of our nation, and I am happy that FMC will commend them for that effort.”


The theme of the 22nd annual Statesmanship Award Dinner, to be held on March 27, 2019, will be “Celebrating and Strengthening Democracy in the 21st Century.” The Dinner will take place at the Mellon Auditorium in Washington, D.C.